A young woman's journey to create a media company.

Why You Don’t Need a Degree in Social Media Marketing

The university seal
Image via Wikipedia

I considered getting a degree in internet marketing. Full Sail University has a program that’s 6.5 semesters long and I’m sure more universities will be following suit soon as the trend continues to grow. After doing my research, some thinking, and a few conversations with my mom and one of my supervisors, I came up with these reasons as to why I don’t think it’s worth earning a degree in social media or internet marketing:

  • This is the industry of change: Every single day there are new developments in technology and social media marketing. Getting a textbook education on the subject wouldn’t be ideal because by the time things hit print and are published, most likely they’re already out dated. One of my mass media textbooks mentions Facebook with an accompanying photo of someone profile. I stared at the profile because it was so several updates ago.
  • Throwing money in the fire: These programs are mostly available online, and, as such, ask for an arm and a leg for tuition. I don’t know about you but I just don’t have that kind of money. One of the reasons I chose the educational option I am pursuing now is to avoid student loans. I don’t want to have to take them out now.
  • Free alternatives: Everything I know about social media marketing I’ve either taught myself, researched, read about on blogs, or learned from experts in webinars. All of these options have been free so far, which is saving me money for knowledge I can use right away.
  • Certificates available: Certificates are an option, especially since places like University of San Francisco, Hootsuite, MarketingProfs, and Media Bistro are offering classes online in exchange for certificates. Unfortunately, these can be costly as well. Depending on your monetary and time budgets, these still may be the better option.

I’ve made the conscious decision to pursue a degree in another concentration so I can add to my social media marketing background. I think this will definitely allow me to seem like an asset to a company when I pursue my career. I suggest others consider this option as well. Never narrow your options down too small.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
2 responses

  1. Well, Briana, I think social media marketing is still a lot about experimenting. Even if you’ve a degree, you’ll have to act as if you’ve none. No one is an expert here.

    May 2, 2010 at 8:37 pm

    • Very true Jaky. I think the industry is constantly changing so much that if you have a degree you’ll almost wish you got it in something else. At least with something like journalism, you won’t have to really change the way you write too much with the exception of buying the new AP Stylebook every year.

      Thanks for your comment!

      May 3, 2010 at 9:27 am

Leave a Reply

