A young woman's journey to create a media company.

Looking Glass Mass Media’s Mission

I knew since I was in 1st grade that I wanted to be an entrepreneur. I knew since 8th grade I wanted to work in public relations. I knew in 9th grade I wanted to work in event coordination. Later in high school I found I was also passionate about marketing and education. When I got to college, I found that I needed to make a deeper connection with people and found my true love for mass media and new media. How could I combine my love for all of these wonderful things?

Looking Glass Mass Media is a company from the heart. It’s not just a bunch of passions and it’s definitely not a fad hobby. I truly believe this is my calling.

I want to run a company that will educate, empower, enlighten, and enrich the lives of youth and young adults. There’s not a lot of kids or even college students who know what the heck they want to do in their life, especially not since the 1st grade. I’m a very rare exception. I want to reach the masses. Why not do that with something they’re surrounded by daily: media!

I grew up in an old school household and I’m a firm believer that it takes a village to raise a child. I also know from experience and from witnessing so many of my peers that in order to be successful, you need a mentor. Youth and young adults need guidance. We can’t do it on our own. If there’s no one physically there, we look to celebrities, movie stars, musicians, people we are surrounded by all day every day.

I used to want to take over the world, but I think that I’m much better suited to do that one life at a time. I’m not going to say I can change 1 million lives, but it surely is a goal of mine. I want to touch the hearts and minds of youth from all walks of life. Circumstances do not mold a person unless it’s the last resort.

I want to do all of this through an array of services and products. UNI-versity will be an online publication that gives college students a voice and a place to express their opinion openly and freely. Refresh*ed will be a project for high school students to engage in their learning and actually retain information and connect it to real life.

As I continue to discover more about myself, I also learn about the world. Why sit and complain about what’s wrong when I can do something about it? That’s what Looking Glass Mass Media is all about: a resolution through revolution.

Leave a Reply

