A young woman's journey to create a media company.

10 Myths About 19 Year Olds

LAS VEGAS - JULY 03:  Rapper Jay-Z performs at...
Image by Getty Images via Daylife

As a 19 year old, sometimes I don’t get taken seriously. Most of the time, I choose to withhold my age until I absolutely have to reveal it, especially where job applications are concerned. People tend to associate maturity with age, which I have found to not be a good measure at all. I believe I’m more mature than a lot of people who have 10+ years on me.

I am about to debunk 10 myths about 19 year olds that a lot of people assume.

  1. Our top 3 priorities include drinking, smoking, and partying: This couldn’t be further from the truth. Even the smell of alcohol makes my stomach turn, smoking is extremely unattractive, and I rarely go out to a party. Usually when I do, I don’t have that great of a time. I much rather prefer a night indoors watching TV marathons or movies.
  2. School is not important to us: I personally have been in school (well, daycare) since I was 5 weeks old. I am definitely my hardest critic. I’m harder on myself than any of my teachers have been. My education is extremely important to me.
  3. Our boyfriends/girlfriends are our world: I love my boyfriend, don’t get me wrong. Yes, he’s also my best friend, but the world does not revolve around him. He knows that with him or without him, I will accomplish my goals in the timeline I have set for myself. He respects that, and I appreciate him for it.
  4. We don’t want to work: I know very few, and I mean literally maybe a handful of people my age, who expressed no interest to work. All of my close friends are grinding hard, getting whatever job we can get for the experience and to help contribute with bills.
  5. We stay on Facebook all day: Not true. I can’t speak for myself because social networking is essentially my job, but most of us don’t have time to farm or Facebook stalk our exes. We only get on when we have down time (yes, sometimes class constitutes as downtime).
  6. We don’t appreciate good music: I prefer music from the 70s and 80s over today’s music any day. Yes, my favorite rapper is Jay-Z and my favorite R&B singer is Ryan Leslie, but nothing replaces The Temptations, Al Green, Gladys Knight & The Pips, and Anita Baker. There’s a lot of my peers who feel the same.
  7. We don’t know what stress is: Are you kidding me? This one gets me the most. I am the most stressed out person I know, and I’m not the only exception. A lot of my friends have added stresses beyond succeeding in school and landing a part time job. Many of us have to pay bills, help out at home, striving to achieve our goals in a strict timetable. We work hard!
  8. We don’t care about important issues: President Obama didn’t get our vote because he was on t-shirts and in our favorite songs. We looked up the issues, we educated ourselves on the campaign. We advocated, got out there and got our peers to vote. For many of us, including myself, this was our first election, and no matter the candidate we voted for, we made sure our voice was heard.
  9. We have no values: We know that values don’t amount to how much money we have in our bank account, what smartphone we have or any other shallow business. We have morals, we have a conscience, we know right from wrong. Whether we choose to comply or not simply depends on the situation and the individual.
  10. We don’t love our parents: I can’t speak for others, but I love all of my parents (I have 4). I had my phase where I wanted to hang out with friends, but I enjoy family time so much more. I have learned so much from my parents and appreciate every moment I get to spend with them.

So before you brush off a young man or young woman such as myself because you found out they’re 19 or any other youthful age, think about these myths and consider that they may not be like the kids you see on MTV’s Spring Break. We’re hard workers who appreciate what life has to offer. We’re open minded individuals who stand up for what we believe in. We are the future and we don’t take that lightly.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Leave a Reply

