A young woman's journey to create a media company.

Introduction

My name is Briana Ford and I’m an aspiring media entrepreneur. Join me on my journey to learn the ins and outs of mass media and starting my company from the ground up.

I’m a 19 year old living in a suburb about 15 minutes from Downtown Los Angeles who is extremely fascinated with mass media. As of right now, I’m an unhappy sophomore public relations major at California State University Long Beach, looking for some drastic changes.

I’m planning to be a transfer student to Woodbury University, pursuing my BA in Organizational Leadership. I am also a social media manager for several companies, looking to come on to a company part or full time until I can get my company off the ground.

I’ve been blogging for 10 years (yes, at the tender age of 9, I started my first Angelfire website), and have been somewhat obsessed with the internet ever since. Now, I’m trying to make a living out of my passion.

I want to combine mass media with marketing, public relations, and special events. Some industries I would love to work in are entertainment (pretty broad, but I love all aspects), education, and service/charity work (AKA non-profits). What better way to dive into all of these than to start my own company?

Of course I’ll be running into a lot of obstacles, such as my age, lack of “real world experience” as old people would say, my pursuit of an education that fits me, personal issues, etc. I’m sure that this is what I want to do, even if I have to make up something of my own to do it.

On this blog, you’ll find my thoughts on things I research in my field(s) as well as the journey I’m taking to make Looking Glass Mass Media a reality. This may include rants and raves about people who are or are not doing it correctly, my frustrations to make my dreams come true and my celebrated success along the way.

Follow me on Twitter for more on the spot thoughts, and support me through it!

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Leave a Reply

