A young woman's journey to create a media company.

Intern Your Way to Gold

I started my first internship the summer before my freshman ¬†year. I worked for Mint Julep Social Events as an assistant event coordinator. Most of the events I worked were weddings, but I loved it. I’ve been hooked ever since.

I’m officially in the double digits of internships. Some of them have been great, and essentially molded what I want to do in life. Others I’ve cut short because they did not fit into my idea of a quality work experience. Since the economy has been in a downward spiral, I knew I needed as much experience as possible. I’ve been told my resume has been extremely impressive, and I never stop applying for things. Just half an hour ago, I had a phone interview for an internship with the Intern Queen.

New York times put out an article about unpaid internships being possibly illegal, which I’m sure will reduce the amount of positions available, but I’m not worried at all. I’ve never had a problem getting one; I manage several at a time. Unfortunately, since I lost my job in September, it’s been hard trying to get by without a paying position.

I’ve been applying for jobs like a mad woman. I send my resume to at least 20 companies a day, trying to get my foot further in the door. My experience is that intern experience is better than none. Even though school isn’t going as well as I would have hoped, I put my all into my work as an intern.

At one point, I overextended myself, unable to say no to the numerous opportunities offered to me. I’ve learned the hard way that I’m not superwoman and I can’t do everything. I don’t regret taking on all the responsibility though, because I’ve made new connections and still made everything a learning experience.

I know my experience is not in vain; I’m far ahead of the average college senior, who may have only completed 2 internships during college, looking for an entry level job. I’m confident that when the time comes, my extensive background in my industry will come in handy, whether it be for Looking Glass or for another company.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Leave a Reply

